Ooops
October 19, 2021, 16:02:14

Author Topic: Wonkey Update  (Read 6404 times)

Offline iWasAdam

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2478
Re: Wonkey Update
« Reply #75 on: June 13, 2021, 08:51:40 »
update on this - after the earlier fit throwing devs...  8)


Because of the need for theme support (in some form or other) I needed to go into the dialogs which meant coming up with some sort of custom built ui. which meant I had to build a complete UI system and then figure out how it all worked and how to 'augment' the new ui with the old ui... following me so far?


ok. So here's what I had to work with - may I present the amazing mojox:

mmmm lovely I can hear you all saying...


And (after some head scratching) here's the miniui - which is very customizable too...

The top is the dev shot showing the grid and control sizes
The bottom is it working with some test data


I've even found flaws in the original mojox to do with modal systems, and implemented default keyboard tracking too \o/


pssst - the new code is simpler to manage, simpler to read and simpler to use too...


 

Offline iWasAdam

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2478
Re: Wonkey Update
« Reply #76 on: June 15, 2021, 12:56:21 »
working on the best way to pick themes now

Offline iWasAdam

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2478
Re: Wonkey Update
« Reply #77 on: June 16, 2021, 11:35:13 »
And more with much more syntac highlighting and the font selection too. Lets hope that flighty devs like this for a theme control...?

Not sure, but I think the design style is called something like 'Modern'?

« Last Edit: June 16, 2021, 11:37:25 by iWasAdam »

Offline Derron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3666
Re: Wonkey Update
« Reply #78 on: June 16, 2021, 13:45:27 »
You should consider adding slight 1px borders here and there ... to split apart areas (toolbars etc - like you did with the "document tabber" already).

For now the screen looks like a mockup of various functionalities / "panels".

Eg the color-legend panel, the whatever-color-panel and the color-palette-panel. They have different widths, the legend panel even is not centered to it (left border smaller than right)
.


Legend panel has rounded corners, document/textarea panel is sharp cornered.

The font preview does ... not fit to the rest ("hard edged" versus "smooth texture/image").

Thin font is rendered "crisp" while the bold font seems to be a bit too smooth (compared to the OS ? -- maybe it is also the letter spacing which makes it look a bit more smudged/narrow)


The blue outline of the colour selection: it is too fat/thick as it does not leave a bit of space in the "color-whatever-panel". In the colour-palette-panel the outline looks odd as the colour itself has a drop shadow while the look of the blue thing is more an "outline" than a "glowing background".



Textarea: at first glance it looks good. but you use a non-monospaced-font, no problem - but look at the brackets of "MyMethod()" - the opening bracket is almost chained to the "d" while it is not happening at the "d".
This means that font spacing is NOT correctly read from the font (or the font has an odd choice for "d + ("). This might also be connected to the "bold font looks a bit odd" issue mentioned earlier.

Another thing I see is the alignment of the line numbers.


compare "50" and the other numbers. if it was left aligned (the numbers) then the "5" would have to start earlier. If it was right-aligned, then the "42" should be more to the right. And If itwas centered then left-right of some numbers should be the same (but it seems to be left centered).
-> line numbers should be right-aligned

Also it again seems to be a subtle hint for the font rendering having an issue.


As you might use the font rendering of "wonkey", a fix for you is a fix for all users. So .. go for it :)



Dunno if you wanted that feedback ... but I feel you asked for it :D



bye
Ron

Offline iWasAdam

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2478
Re: Wonkey Update
« Reply #79 on: June 17, 2021, 08:07:22 »
thanks derron  ;D
I'll get about addressing these

Offline Terry

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
Re: Wonkey Update
« Reply #80 on: June 17, 2021, 20:57:48 »
Hi there,

I've been looking at this for some time, I used monkey in the past, I never got around to trying its sequel, but this looks really cool, the only issue I have after trying it is that I just cannot get android builds to go through, it always complains about 'fatal error: 'cpu-features.h' file not found' or similar.

I follow the tutorial thats bundled though its not exactly clear on what I should be downloading, and I'm not an android expert by any means, but in all I think I downloaded about 15 gigabytes of 'stuff' to no avail.

Is there by any chance a way to update the android tutorial or even package the needed tools to a single download where I can just extract into some wonkey folder?

I was just going to forget about it, but I seem to get drawn back in, hence, why I am asking, if not, no problem, I do see your busy with other wonkey fixes it seems, but, I've had a go myself and cannot figure it out.

Other then that, excellent work

Kind regards

T

Offline round157

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 474
Re: Wonkey Update
« Reply #81 on: June 17, 2021, 23:01:16 »
Hi there,


New user of Wonkey? Welcome to the forum!

Wonkey looks so versatile and reliable. In fact, iWasAdam is very professional. I guess that the user base will be enlarged quickly!

« Last Edit: June 17, 2021, 23:08:01 by round157 »

Offline iWasAdam

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2478
Re: Wonkey Update
« Reply #82 on: June 18, 2021, 10:41:38 »
I’ll see what can be done - question for you; what was the spec of the android device

Offline Xaron

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 353
Re: Wonkey Update
« Reply #83 on: June 18, 2021, 10:52:16 »
Here's a question to any interested persons - or not interested.

What would YOU like from an IDE?

Tabs to spaces, PLEASE! Without that any IDE is unusable for me.

It's a must, having it in our coding guidelines and for a reason. You can imagine how ugly code can look when one does this and the other does that. And no, that everyone uses tabs is NOT a solution because it simply doesn't work when using space bar by accident.

Offline Aurel

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 351
Re: Wonkey Update
« Reply #84 on: June 18, 2021, 13:42:28 »
what ..there is no tabs  ;D
(Y)

Offline iWasAdam

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2478
Re: Wonkey Update
« Reply #85 on: June 18, 2021, 13:58:04 »
wonkey editor (wide) is very advanced - wide 2 a bit more so:
on the left if the wide2 editor showing tabs and hidden stuff, and the (current) prefs dialog showing tab details. Wide will also notify if there are mixed tabs/spaces and convert


And info on the android front - the compiler devs are looking into it...

Offline Terry

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
Re: Wonkey Update
« Reply #86 on: June 20, 2021, 13:08:26 »
Quote
And info on the android front - the compiler devs are looking into it...

Sorry for late reply to your question above.

Regarding the device, its not the fact I cannot get nothing on the device, that is okay when I put a default Android Studio build through.

It's when I initially build/update modules (Or run an app straight away and it starts to do the build) that the 'cannot find cpu-features.h' file error occurs.

There needs to be more detail in the docs, there is a quite a few NDK versions now, I think I downloaded about 4 from the Android SDK and, nothing changed, same error, and then I got tired of it, and from what I found in the win_env file, it only has "ndk-bundle" as an example of the path. And I'm getting the impression that now, that approach is done away with by google and now it's a 'side by side' setup, so a NDK version number is imperative.

If your Android guys are looking into it, I'll hold off trying something else, though I do appreciate any effort, because like I mentioned, Wonkey does seem to be what I'm after and I am floating back to it, so I will hold off moving along because I think Wonkey will be worth the effort, and obviously, less of a pain going native with Android Studio.

Kind regards

T

Offline iWasAdam

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2478
Re: Wonkey Update
« Reply #87 on: June 20, 2021, 14:18:57 »
No problemo...

The android dev has some time free and is looking into this for you.

The .h erro has been confirmed - so this is good progress - We'll get this all sorted :)

Offline Terry

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 4
Re: Wonkey Update
« Reply #88 on: June 20, 2021, 19:03:12 »
Thank you Adam, and please do say thank you to the android dev too please, I know it's not anyones fault, but unfortunately with the way google operate, when it comes to these things, after trying other android solutions which fail in other ways, documentation updates and even periodic tests of the setup are needed. I've had the same with GLBasic and even CerberusX which I never realised the author posts here.

Which if I can interrupt the topic for a minute, I had trouble with that as well (CerberusX), after setting up accordingly, I was receiving errors about licenses having to be accepted in the output window (And everything was done through the SDK Manager, so couldnt understand why it was complaining), which, I have had before when trying it, but managed to fix it by doing 'SDKManager.exe --licenses', and that fixed it, now after trying it, the same cropped up, so I called that, and it was met with an exception, ultimately, I couldn't build on that as well. Maybe the author should take a look at their android target from a blank canvas too.

Kind regards

T

Offline iWasAdam

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2478
Re: Wonkey Update
« Reply #89 on: June 21, 2021, 05:46:14 »
no problem. my core task is to get the editor working to my liking and the documentation and other stuff follows ofn from that. but it's alway good to hear about issues and potential ways to make 'YOUR' life simpler :)

 

SimplePortal 2.3.6 © 2008-2014, SimplePortal