May 31, 2020, 08:43:35 PM

Author Topic: Anyone tried V programming language ?  (Read 411 times)

Offline Aurel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
    • AurelSoft
Anyone tried V programming language ?
« on: April 06, 2020, 09:15:50 AM »
when we talk about new languages anyone tried this one:
https://vlang.io

It looks to me simplier than rust...

Offline Aurel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
    • AurelSoft
Re: Anyone tried V programming language ?
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2020, 10:30:46 AM »
Ok i download and try..jeez...this one is 27 lines of code ..
First i try compiled version ..it is just 64 bit..ok nothing ,then i try compile it with MingW ..
540 warnings,530 errors ...NICE  ;D
On his site there is no any clear informations just a pure mumbo-jumbo
Also i don't get it why all this new langs are console based ,like we live in DOS time  :o
Also like rust does not come with usable code editor ,it is not problem but i am wondering why rust also don't
have anything included in win version..all this simply sucks. >:(

Offline c0d3r9

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
Re: Anyone tried V programming language ?
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2020, 11:27:57 AM »
indeed i agree...i like an out-of-the-box language...but c/c++ havenĀ“t any IDE.and it just works.
I just atm clion und it runs very smooth
Laptop: Win10@64bit - i3 2x2Ghz - 8GB Ram - 1TB HDD
Desktop: Win10@64bit - AMD Ryzen 5 2400G - MSI B450 Tomahawk - 8GB Ram - 240GB SSD

Offline Aurel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
    • AurelSoft
Re: Anyone tried V programming language ?
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2020, 04:49:07 PM »
Yes i agree almost any C/C++ run well
MSVCC
LCC
gcc-MingW
old borland c++
orangeC
pellesC
tcc

Well for rust is stated that is amazing....yeah where
his setup is damn console which need to set environment variable...
come on..why is not portable...
so he need to mess up with system...i don't like that at all, or better to say i hate it!

Offline Aurel

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
    • AurelSoft
Re: Anyone tried V programming language ?
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2020, 08:01:20 AM »
I found this on hackaday.io

Quote
Git cloning V and then running make first compiles V using a C compiler, then uses the resulting V executable to compile itself. I had no issues running it on Linux, but had to work a little harder to get an error-free build on Windows. Actual direct machine code generation is currently only available for x64/Mach-O. However, by the end of 2019, V 1.0 should be released with support for all x64, which I can believe given the current pace of development.

TOMAAZ : READ THIS !!!!!
I GET THIS ANSWER FROM THE ADMIN OF V - BOARD


And that explain a lot about my suspect...it is developed on linux,there is a why not compile properly on windows.
How anyone can expect( i mean author-dev) that this language get some popularity if you cannot use it on a
normal way ??? 

guest7581

  • Guest
Re: Anyone tried V programming language ?
« Reply #5 on: April 17, 2020, 07:11:47 PM »
Also i don't get it why all this new langs are console based ,like we live in DOS time  :o
Also like rust does not come with usable code editor ,it is not problem but i am wondering why rust also don't
have anything included in win version..all this simply sucks. >:(

Serious languages don't come with editors, because they are... serious languages that are meant to be used in different environments and systems by people who have their own editor preferences. And what do you mean by "console based"? I've tried V on Linux and it came with a pre-build binary, libraries for graphics and examples (Tetris worked without problems). And yes - the core language is "console based", because that's the sensible way to do things.

As far as I remember V looks like it's been heavily influenced by Go. It's still in alpha, so if you like its syntax just try Go instead.

guest7581

  • Guest
Re: Anyone tried V programming language ?
« Reply #6 on: April 20, 2020, 06:39:11 PM »
I've decided to try Raylib with V.  The installation process was very easy, but the bindings didn't work out of the box. I had to edit two source code files to fix some bugs and now it works with Raylib 3. Simple example:

Code: [Select]
module main

import MajorHard.vraylib

fn rgba(re int, gr int, bl int, al int) Color {
return Color{r: re, g: gr, b: bl, a: al}
}

fn main() {
mut x := 0
mut y := 0
vraylib.init_window(255, 255, "Test")
defer {
vraylib.close_window()
}
for {
if vraylib.window_should_close() {
break
}
vraylib.begin_drawing()
for x = 0; x < 255; x++ {
for y = 0; y < 255; y++ {
vraylib.draw_pixel(x, y, rgba(x, y, 255 - x, 255))
}
}
vraylib.end_drawing()
}
vraylib.take_screenshot("1.png")
}

 

SimplePortal 2.3.6 © 2008-2014, SimplePortal