Yearly subscriptions for my software

Started by ImJustAnotherCoder, March 26, 2020, 10:11:59

Previous topic - Next topic

ImJustAnotherCoder

Hiya everyone.

I have some software that I want to sell, written in native C++ for Window10 x64.
I'd like to have users sign up for a year subscription at a time to use the software. Seems a pretty normal thing these days, however I'm completely new to this kind of thing and some of you guys seems pretty clued up so I thought I'd ask for some help 8)

So my question is
Do any of you know of a reputable company that offers such a software/service for subscription based licensing. Do I even need an external company for this? Or is it east to implement such a thing myself? If so are there any learning materials that you would recommend?

I assume that I would have to add in some code into my source for the subscription checks etc?

Go easy with me, while I'm experienced in C++, the subscription stuff is new for me!

Naughty Alien

..what does your software do, if i may know?

ImJustAnotherCoder

Hi Naughty Alien,

Should I have mentioned that it's not a game?

It's an audio/video player solution for teams of transcribers.

Qube

Some of the apps I write for business are yearly subscription based due to them being supported and updated per bespoke requests.

The apps are VB.net with the backend being PHP / MySQL on a server.

If that's of use I can give you the details of that side with the code ( most but not all of course ). Let me know :)
Mac Studio M1 Max ( 10 core CPU - 24 core GPU ), 32GB LPDDR5, 512GB SSD,
Beelink SER7 Mini Gaming PC, Ryzen 7 7840HS 8-Core 16-Thread 5.1GHz Processor, 32G DDR5 RAM 1T PCIe 4.0 SSD
MSI MEG 342C 34" QD-OLED Monitor

Until the next time.

ImJustAnotherCoder

Hi Qube!

That would be great. Very kind of you.

I'm new to all the server stuff too. Would you be able to include some kind of idiots guide too? Or a link to where I could learn these kinds of things.

This is very kind of you!

Thanks