Ooops
May 25, 2020, 12:45:34 PM

Author Topic: PureBasic 2D and 3D  (Read 370 times)

Offline Pfaber11

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 545
  • Bonjour
    • FABERSGAMES
PureBasic 2D and 3D
« on: February 22, 2020, 08:44:01 AM »
Can you use 2D and 3D graphics on the screen at the same time . I was told I can't remember where that you could not do this but this is not true . In my latest game I do this and it works fine . The sight and the score are both 2D on the foreground and the 3D stuff is in the background . Not sure how to detect a collision between a 2D sprite and a 3D entity although I did find a workaround thanks to somebody on here . Mr Qube if you read this perhaps we can have a PureBasic sub forum and maybe move the PB posts to it . I think I may be able to answer some questions as well as ask them now and can potentially help some members out . Thanks for reading 
Celeron N3060 1.6 ghz duel core  4 Gb ram 32 gig storage  HD400 Graphics 160 gig external hard drive....

Offline c0d3r9

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
Re: PureBasic 2D and 3D
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2020, 09:54:29 AM »
Laptop: Win10@64bit - i3 2x2Ghz - 8GB Ram - 1TB HDD
Desktop: Win10@64bit - AMD Ryzen 5 2400G - MSI B450 Tomahawk - 8GB Ram - 240GB SSD

Offline Pfaber11

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 545
  • Bonjour
    • FABERSGAMES
Re: PureBasic 2D and 3D
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2020, 12:16:46 PM »
Yeah point taken there is the official Pure basic forum but I prefer syntax bomb as it's not so clinical . Not sure I worded that correctly but I think you get the idea. As for the 2d 3d thing I was told you had to pick 2d or 3d at the start and that's that.
Celeron N3060 1.6 ghz duel core  4 Gb ram 32 gig storage  HD400 Graphics 160 gig external hard drive....

Offline c0d3r9

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 156
Re: PureBasic 2D and 3D
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2020, 03:29:56 PM »
Haven´t tried, but in the pb forum Psychophanta wrote that you can handle a sprite in a 3D world like a 3D object.
Why you doesn´t try that with collisions?

If it doesn´t work you can post your code in the pb forum and maybe anybody helps you.
Thats how a forum work.

And just 2cents from me....why you switch between engine/languages every few weeks?
Stand by one and work hard with it and you should found a solution for near every problem.
Laptop: Win10@64bit - i3 2x2Ghz - 8GB Ram - 1TB HDD
Desktop: Win10@64bit - AMD Ryzen 5 2400G - MSI B450 Tomahawk - 8GB Ram - 240GB SSD

Offline Pfaber11

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 545
  • Bonjour
    • FABERSGAMES
Re: PureBasic 2D and 3D
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2020, 07:44:08 PM »
Yeah will be sticking with PureBasic from now on . Will try out the 2d sprite in a 3d environment and see what happens . In my latest game I do have a sprite on screen at the same time as a 3d screen and it all works fine . The sprite is my sighting system .
Celeron N3060 1.6 ghz duel core  4 Gb ram 32 gig storage  HD400 Graphics 160 gig external hard drive....

 

SimplePortal 2.3.6 © 2008-2014, SimplePortal