Ooops
November 24, 2020, 07:20:18 AM

Author Topic: B3D help for W10  (Read 1207 times)

Offline 3DzForMe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1136
B3D help for W10
« on: August 09, 2019, 08:10:21 PM »
I know theres something you need to include in the root directory of a B3D exe to get it to work...  my foggy brains not recalling what it was at the mo....

Hmmm, this seems a ball ache:

https://appuals.com/fix-dplay-dll-is-missing-error/


Offline Steve Elliott

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2853
  • elgol 2021
Re: B3D help for W10
« Reply #1 on: August 09, 2019, 08:14:20 PM »
Windows 10 64-bit, 16Gb RAM, Intel i5 3.2 GHz, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050 (2Gb)
MacOS Big Sur 64-bit, 8Gb RAM, Intel i5 2.3 Ghz, Intel Iris Plus Graphics 640 1536 MB
Linux Mint 19.3 64-bit, 16Gb RAM, Intel i5 3.2 GHz, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050 (2Gb)
Raspberry Pi 400, Pi4, C64, ZX Spectrum Next.

Offline 3DzForMe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1136
Re: B3D help for W10
« Reply #2 on: August 09, 2019, 08:17:16 PM »
I'm going to look at your link now Steve, however found this tooo....

https://www.syntaxbomb.com/index.php?topic=3919.15


Quote
method 2 :
add the directplay dll with your executable (so game.exe and dplayx.dll in the same directory)
you can download dplayx.dll, online, or here :
rd-stuff.fr/directplay-dll-(5.3.2600.5512).zip
(you can probably use others versions, but i have found this one which works well !)


(and you also need to include fmod.dll with your executable... (so game.exe and fmod.dll in the same directory))

Offline 3DzForMe

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1136
Re: B3D help for W10
« Reply #3 on: August 09, 2019, 08:29:25 PM »
Hmmm, it would appear I've got some version control issues - wasn't directplay causing the issue.

Maybe my days of coding are diminishing  :o - Actually, theres no maybe - they are!

Still -                                                     I won't lose my marvel of code stuff.

Thing is, my Demo installation script make my stuff work on my sons W10 computer, so.... its me circumventing (or not) the W10 installation process by trying to run stuff from dropbox that just 'works' on the old development laptop, which I hasten to add cost me 560p!


Offline Steve Elliott

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2853
  • elgol 2021
Re: B3D help for W10
« Reply #4 on: August 09, 2019, 08:43:25 PM »
Quote
Maybe my days of coding are diminishing  :o - Actually, theres no maybe - they are!

Don't say that, I've always felt we owe it to ourselfs to keep the mind active, and what better way than logical coding?  Presently AGK is the nearest to Blitz3D syntax-wise.  Give it a try, at least it's constantly updated and runs on modern hardware without legacy problems.
Windows 10 64-bit, 16Gb RAM, Intel i5 3.2 GHz, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050 (2Gb)
MacOS Big Sur 64-bit, 8Gb RAM, Intel i5 2.3 Ghz, Intel Iris Plus Graphics 640 1536 MB
Linux Mint 19.3 64-bit, 16Gb RAM, Intel i5 3.2 GHz, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050 (2Gb)
Raspberry Pi 400, Pi4, C64, ZX Spectrum Next.

Offline TomToad

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 517
Re: B3D help for W10
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2019, 09:10:15 PM »
Be sure to compile your code on a more recent version of B3D. I have a few older programs that would MAV on my machine until I recompiled them with an updated B3D.
------------------------------------------------
8 rabbits equals 1 rabbyte.

Offline Dabz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 262
  • Is it cos I is ginger?
    • dabzy.co.uk
Re: B3D help for W10
« Reply #6 on: August 10, 2019, 08:36:10 PM »
Quote
Maybe my days of coding are diminishing  :o - Actually, theres no maybe - they are!

I'm the same really, I tinker on and that, but gone are the days were I'd be sat in my spare time coding away, look at the clock and think "Christ, I've only got 2 hours sleep before work" :D

When I wrote that BambooBasic thing, it was great, not a sprite in sight, it was all coding, juggling four languages across 3 platforms (Even learnt one as I was going, which was Vala, which I think I got most of my enjoyment from really), I honestly had a ball with it.

The biggest problem I've always had is that a project must hold interest for me, and 99 times out of a 100, when I get to the point where I've got to shine it up, I drop off the cliff and it gets abandoned.

Sad but true, and nowadays, I sort of know I'm wasting my time, so, just tinker, have a play.

Dabz
Intel Core i5 6400 2.7GHz, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 (8GB), 16Gig DDR4 RAM, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD, Windows 10 64bit

Offline RemiD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1066
Re: B3D help for W10
« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2019, 11:07:50 AM »
you need to have fmod.dll and dxplay.dll in the same directory than the exe...
DualCore AMD E-450, 1646 MHz - 6 Go DDR3 1333 SDRAM - AMD Radeon HD 6320 Graphics (384 Mo) - Windows 7 Home Premium - DirectX 11.0

 

SimplePortal 2.3.6 © 2008-2014, SimplePortal