January 21, 2021, 04:36:34 AM

Author Topic: SlopesTest - A Simple Slopes Platty Test  (Read 1407 times)

Offline Amon.

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 208
  • What? There's no ceiling outside?
    • Amon.Pro
SlopesTest - A Simple Slopes Platty Test
« on: June 25, 2019, 04:40:00 PM »
This is my attempt at slopes in a 2d platform game. This is only a test. The character jitters a bit but it seems to detect slopes of different angles properly so far.
It's html5 and the linky is here https://amon.pro/SlopesTest
/edit/
left and right arrow keys to move and Z key to jump.
Windows 10 Pro - 64GB DDR4 RAM - GEFORCE RTX 2080 TI 11GB - AMD RYZEN 9 3950X

Offline Qube

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2587
  • I mostly code at night... Mostly.
    • SyntaxBomb - Indie Coders
Re: SlopesTest - A Simple Slopes Platty Test
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2019, 05:01:47 PM »
Works nicely :) Would be better if you could smooth out the jitter to keep with the smooth movement.

Also I found a bug :o - sometimes he'll fall through the gap in the floor ( easily solved no doubt ) :

Mac mini ( 2018 / 2020 ), 3 GHz 6-Core Intel Core i5, 16 GB 2667 MHz DDR4, 1TB NVMe, eGPU Radeon Pro 580 8 GB, LG Ultragear 27GL83A-B 27 Inch
Commodore VIC-20, 1.1Mhz MOS 6502 CPU, 5KB RAM, VIC ( 6560 ) GPU

Until the next time...

Offline Amon.

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 208
  • What? There's no ceiling outside?
    • Amon.Pro
Re: SlopesTest - A Simple Slopes Platty Test
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2019, 05:05:44 PM »
Hey Qube, thanks for testing. Yeah the jittering is easy to sort and I'm working on that now. The bug you show is not a bug. It's a feature of the eh thing that basically controls all the stuff. ^.^
Windows 10 Pro - 64GB DDR4 RAM - GEFORCE RTX 2080 TI 11GB - AMD RYZEN 9 3950X

Offline Dabz

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 354
  • Is it cos I is ginger?
    • dabzy.co.uk
Re: SlopesTest - A Simple Slopes Platty Test
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2019, 06:11:41 PM »
Nice one! :)

Love a good bit of platforming me! :D

Dabz
Intel Core i5 6400 2.7GHz, NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1070 (8GB), 16Gig DDR4 RAM, 256GB SSD, 1TB HDD, Windows 10 64bit

Offline Amon.

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 208
  • What? There's no ceiling outside?
    • Amon.Pro
Re: SlopesTest - A Simple Slopes Platty Test
« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2019, 06:30:17 PM »
Cheers Dabz. :)
Windows 10 Pro - 64GB DDR4 RAM - GEFORCE RTX 2080 TI 11GB - AMD RYZEN 9 3950X

Offline chessish

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 33
Re: SlopesTest - A Simple Slopes Platty Test
« Reply #5 on: June 30, 2019, 07:26:15 PM »
Wow this looks cool!

Offline therevills

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 614
Re: SlopesTest - A Simple Slopes Platty Test
« Reply #6 on: July 03, 2019, 11:16:30 AM »
Very nice, I've always liked the look of your little character.

What are you coding this in?

Offline Amon.

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 208
  • What? There's no ceiling outside?
    • Amon.Pro
Re: SlopesTest - A Simple Slopes Platty Test
« Reply #7 on: July 03, 2019, 02:04:37 PM »
I moved over to GMS2 and it's all coded in that. I bought the Mobile/Desktop/HTML5 licenses and have not looked back. Monkey2 is great but it's nowt compared to the powerhouse that Game Make Studio 2 is. I still use AGK2 but only for 3D.
Windows 10 Pro - 64GB DDR4 RAM - GEFORCE RTX 2080 TI 11GB - AMD RYZEN 9 3950X

Offline Xerra

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1207
  • Wait, what? This isn't Porn Hub?
    • Retro Evolved
Re: SlopesTest - A Simple Slopes Platty Test
« Reply #8 on: July 04, 2019, 07:38:45 PM »
I moved over to GMS2 and it's all coded in that. I bought the Mobile/Desktop/HTML5 licenses and have not looked back. Monkey2 is great but it's nowt compared to the powerhouse that Game Make Studio 2 is. I still use AGK2 but only for 3D.

All my Syntax Bomb competition games have been created with GMS2. It's great for being able to realise ideas pretty quickly and learning new stuff.

 

SimplePortal 2.3.6 © 2008-2014, SimplePortal