August 25, 2019, 09:18:55 AM

Author Topic: Ever tried naming a company?  (Read 566 times)

Offline Yellownakji

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 247
  • No.
Re: Ever tried naming a company?
« Reply #15 on: May 16, 2019, 12:23:41 AM »
Update:

We've settled on a name, registered the domain and the paperwork is underway.   We decided to go with the 'blend' route, as suggested above.   A lot of good things on paper, but so much is already taken.  It's quite absurd.

Maybe things will be nice now  ::)

Offline Qube

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2053
Re: Ever tried naming a company?
« Reply #16 on: May 16, 2019, 12:50:24 AM »
We wanted to sell on the App store. Apple want you to have a registered company to do that. Well, they did at the time. Unsure it's the same now. This was 2015.
Ah, so you setup the account as a business rather than an individual. Makes sense as my Apple dev account is as an individual.

Update:

We've settled on a name, registered the domain and the paperwork is underway.   We decided to go with the 'blend' route, as suggested above.   A lot of good things on paper, but so much is already taken.  It's quite absurd.
Congrats :) - Is there a reason why you needed to go down this route?. In the UK you can keep things really simple and be self employed, get a bank account under your business name, let the HMRC know that you are also self employed and still work in a normal job without much fuss at all. Of course if you want to setup a LTD company ( or more ) and become VAT registered then it's more paperwork and hoops to jump through but to simply start trading under a business name it's super simple.
Until the next time...

Offline Derron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2337
Re: Ever tried naming a company?
« Reply #17 on: May 16, 2019, 06:24:18 AM »
In Germany you are not allowed to use a business name only if you are such a limited self employed one. So your contracts and bills will always have to state your full name instead of an artificial name. These "small businesses" have to state that they are of this kind and do not include VAT in their bills (a big statement line below the costs amount).
If your earned money (so total amount not subtracting costs) goes above 16500eur you need to become a normal business ... with VAT and so on. Yet it does not mean you can have a artificial name. For this it needs another form of company.

Think this is similar to the UK but pretty much differs to the US.


Bye
Ron

Offline Yellownakji

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 247
  • No.
Re: Ever tried naming a company?
« Reply #18 on: May 16, 2019, 12:31:42 PM »
We wanted to sell on the App store. Apple want you to have a registered company to do that. Well, they did at the time. Unsure it's the same now. This was 2015.
Ah, so you setup the account as a business rather than an individual. Makes sense as my Apple dev account is as an individual.

Update:

We've settled on a name, registered the domain and the paperwork is underway.   We decided to go with the 'blend' route, as suggested above.   A lot of good things on paper, but so much is already taken.  It's quite absurd.
Congrats :) - Is there a reason why you needed to go down this route?. In the UK you can keep things really simple and be self employed, get a bank account under your business name, let the HMRC know that you are also self employed and still work in a normal job without much fuss at all. Of course if you want to setup a LTD company ( or more ) and become VAT registered then it's more paperwork and hoops to jump through but to simply start trading under a business name it's super simple.

Things can be that simple in the US.  My specific state isn't, however.   We've made over $5,000, within a month; They're itching to put us on the radar for their tax purposes.  If i was in, say Texas or North Carolina, the total i could make per month would be 10,000-15,000 without needing a registered name.  The limit here is 5k/month and our tax is 11 cents to the dollar, which is why i'm moving.   I also gave them the middle finger by registering in Wyoming.   Least tax in the USA (2 cents to the dollar) AND cheaper registration fee.   Because it's registered in Wyoming, it will also be easier to branch to Canada, as they have joint relationships.

Offline Xaron

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 252
Re: Ever tried naming a company?
« Reply #19 on: May 16, 2019, 07:58:03 PM »
11 cents to the dollar? Wow, that's cheap. As a single dev I have to pay 42 cent per dollar plus VAT. So when selling for 1$, they deduct 19% VAT, then the income tax of about 42%, you can do the math (Germany)...

On the other hand with a company, you have to pay about 16% tax plus income tax of what you take out then.

I'm currently in the same boat to find a good company name...

Offline Derron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2337
Re: Ever tried naming a company?
« Reply #20 on: May 16, 2019, 08:44:49 PM »
@ Xaron
German name or international one?

Are you searching for a company name (so GmbH, KG, ...) Or just something you can put over your name (so some kind of webadress). Take care of whats your company is doing (trademarks, nizza classes...).

If you do local business apps for others (inhouse solutions or white label products) you can keep it easy with "Softwarelösungen DeinName" or so.

Mine is btw Digidea(.de) - no company name but the name I put next to mine.


Bye
Ron

Offline Xaron

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 252
Re: Ever tried naming a company?
« Reply #21 on: May 16, 2019, 08:49:58 PM »
Hey Ron, more international, GmbH... But will find a good one. In the end it's not as important as the product. Might use "KrautApps".  :))

Offline Derron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2337
Re: Ever tried naming a company?
« Reply #22 on: May 16, 2019, 09:19:00 PM »
Maybe ask how Kraut (for Germans) is connotated for them as non-German.

But as you said...the name itself isnt as important. Still you should try to not embarass your clients with your name: "our ERP software was written by 'Shit Hapoens LTD'" ;-)


Bye
Ron