Need Help Optimizing Particle System

Started by Ashmoor, April 29, 2019, 01:54:21

Previous topic - Next topic

Derron

Mky.mod (mojo reimplementation) offers both.

You might also try sdl.gl2sdlgraphica instead of brl.glgraphics or the dx variants.
It does a little bit of batching (collecting draw commands).

@ GaborD
Brucey is currently working on implementing bgfx support. This should bring shaders etc to BlitzMax.

Else I think Col/Davecamp has some shader module on github.
Think it would need a pretty complete overhaul of the particle code above.

Bye
Ron

Ashmoor

@GaborD
"Do yo need to stick to stock BMX due to project constraints or are you free to fully leverage 3D hardware?"

I am too inexperienced to switch to other things after about 16 months of development. I am self taught and would like to release a game before moving on and learning complex new things. I've been working as game designer and game artist for more than 15 years but I've never programmed any games. This is my first commercial game. In short, yes, I would rather find a different way of handling the scenes than spending 3 months learning and implementing new stuff.

"If you think about it, particles are as parallelized as it gets, you call simple functions tons of times. They basically beg for a GPU implementation."

This makes a lot of sense but I don't have the skills yet, I know close to nothing of OpenGL or shaders :(

@Derron
"Did you use only a single image or multiple images for rendering? Using only one can be used to simulate single-textures with no further texture switches."

I used single images.

I have ran more tests. It may be my lack of experience or just plain ignorance that I didn't know that a debug build is ~3 times slower than release builds. Here are my latest stats:

~ 5k basic particles in release mode (single image, no animation, greyscale)
~ 1.7k basic particles in debug mode
~ 5k barebone particles (all update stuff disabled except for death timer) in debug mode