July 20, 2019, 07:29:55 AM

Author Topic: Can Blide be used with BlitMax NG?  (Read 296 times)

Offline Cody

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3
    • Raider
Can Blide be used with BlitMax NG?
« on: March 26, 2019, 12:38:09 AM »
Can Blide be made to use BlitzMax NG?
I installed blide-plus-15-09-2001-SP1 and set it to the folder with BlitzMax_win32_0.99.3.31.
I tried to build a sample game and got the error,
E:/000/prog/BlitzMax_NG/MinGW32x64/bin/ar.exe: creating E:/000/prog/BlitzMax_NG/mod/brl.mod/blitz.mod/blitz.debug.win32.x64.a

What should I do next to try and make this work?

Sorry I'm so clueless. This is my first attempt at using NG.

Offline markcwm

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 391
Re: Can Blide be used with BlitMax NG?
« Reply #1 on: March 26, 2019, 09:27:30 PM »
Well, it's possible to use Blide with Blitzmax NG but it was never made fully compatible by ziggy.

GW called it "a pain in the butt":
https://www.syntaxbomb.com/index.php/topic,4204.msg13687.html#msg13687

As Krischan pointed out unless you want 64-bit it's better to use vanilla/OS Blitzmax:
https://www.syntaxbomb.com/index.php/topic,46.msg788.html#msg788

And Krischan mentions there are "other disadvantages":
https://www.syntaxbomb.com/index.php/topic,4897.msg19145.html#msg19145

So if you do proceed then use cmd (command-line) to build all modules:
https://www.syntaxbomb.com/index.php/topic,46.msg563.html#msg563

This is necessary because Blide takes over the build process:
https://www.syntaxbomb.com/index.php/topic,46.msg575.html#msg575

I'm going to recommend you use Blide as an editor and then use MaxIDE NG to build and run.

Offline Cody

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3
    • Raider
Re: Can Blide be used with BlitMax NG?
« Reply #2 on: March 27, 2019, 03:01:28 AM »
"I'm going to recommend you use Blide as an editor and then use MaxIDE NG to build and run."

Thank you very much for your help.

Offline GW

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 165
Re: Can Blide be used with BlitMax NG?
« Reply #3 on: March 27, 2019, 08:06:26 AM »
I still use Blide with BmaxNG all the time.  It works well enough for me.  Here are some random thoughts.
  • Blide allows you setup multiple bmax installations, so you switch back and forth between vanilla and bmaxng with just a button click. it's handy.
  • The -w argument to the new bmk is a necessity. Edit the source code of bmk to make it enabled by default.
  • The arguments that Blide passes to bmk are inaccessible to the user.  One day in the future i'll patch Blide to handle the new bmk args and make a post on how to do it.
  • The "Blide Publisher" stuff doesn't work and probably never will, NG uses gcc in a different way, but you can get the same results outside of Blide.
  • If you need to add any specific custom NG bmk arguments to your build, then you can try creating a <compiledexe>.bmk file in the same directory as your project and add the arguments there. Example:(a)  Sometimes this doesn't work,  probably because of (c).
  • Another thing to try is adding the bmk arguments to the main source file of your application. Example:(b).  But I don't know how well this works, also because of (c). I basically throw everything at the wall and hope something sticks.
  • Do all your module building from the command line as stated previously.
(a)
Code: [Select]
addarg "-w"
addarg "-quick"
addarg "-v"

(b)
Code: [Select]
' @bmk addarg "-w" 
' @bmk addarg "-h"
' @bmk addarg "-v"

(c) No worthy documentation of any kind!

 


Offline Derron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2209
Re: Can Blide be used with BlitMax NG?
« Reply #4 on: March 27, 2019, 08:37:42 AM »
you could also compile your own bmk.exe which just passes everything it gets to "bmk_ng.exe" and returns whatever that passed stuff returns.
"bmk_ng.exe" is then the original bmk.exe.
Means you can update without recompiling.

Maybe better: ask ziggy if he could add some minor stuff.


bye
Ron

Offline Yellownakji

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 243
  • Whoop-de-doo-ba-dooo!
Re: Can Blide be used with BlitMax NG?
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2019, 01:08:49 AM »
The lastest version of Blide, v15, works beautifully with BMXNG.  I use it as my main IDE.