January 22, 2019, 01:10:29 AM

Author Topic: Gamemaker Studio 2  (Read 482 times)

Offline Amon.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • What? There's no ceiling outside?
    • Amon.Pro
Gamemaker Studio 2
« on: May 25, 2018, 06:50:45 PM »
It's pretty cool. I just bought the android/html5/desktop version. It was a little confusing at first but after a bit of reading and tutorial hunting I'm getting the flowjo on how it does what it does, and, it's pretty cool.
Windows 10 Pro - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GEFORCE GTX 1080 8GB - OCTACORE AMD FX 3.8GHZ - WATERCOOLING.

Offline Xerra

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 344
    • Retro Evolved
Re: Gamemaker Studio 2
« Reply #1 on: May 25, 2018, 09:41:29 PM »
I've been using it for the last 18 months. This is just some of the work I've done since I've been using it. Before using GMS 2 I was lucky if I could turn around a game in 2 years.


Offline Amon.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • What? There's no ceiling outside?
    • Amon.Pro
Re: Gamemaker Studio 2
« Reply #2 on: May 25, 2018, 11:45:49 PM »
That's quite a productive streak there. Well done. I've still got a lot to learn though. The GML Scripting is not a problem but understanding the methodology of the IDE is taking time. Time well spent though.
Windows 10 Pro - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GEFORCE GTX 1080 8GB - OCTACORE AMD FX 3.8GHZ - WATERCOOLING.

Offline Amon.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • What? There's no ceiling outside?
    • Amon.Pro
Re: Gamemaker Studio 2
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2018, 11:57:15 AM »
Getting used to how everything flows now. I'm experimenting with object variables. Pretty cool stuff.
Windows 10 Pro - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GEFORCE GTX 1080 8GB - OCTACORE AMD FX 3.8GHZ - WATERCOOLING.

Offline Xerra

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 344
    • Retro Evolved
Re: Gamemaker Studio 2
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2018, 08:41:13 PM »
Glad you're liking it so far.

I've never really used the variables set up in the editor so I'm not sure what you're actually doing here. You've got alternative names defined for objects which I'm assuming you are using for creating new instances of them. I'm just not sure why you'd actually do it that way? Might as well just call the object name itself. Or am I missing something here?

Offline Amon.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • What? There's no ceiling outside?
    • Amon.Pro
Re: Gamemaker Studio 2
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2018, 03:17:05 AM »
Well, basically, The Object Spawner acts like the class. It spawns instances of each coloured cube. Each cube inherits the Object Spawners values making it easier to manage. Yes, it could be done the other way also, but, this way the inherited values make for better organisation.
Windows 10 Pro - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GEFORCE GTX 1080 8GB - OCTACORE AMD FX 3.8GHZ - WATERCOOLING.

Offline Xerra

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 344
    • Retro Evolved
Re: Gamemaker Studio 2
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2018, 08:55:45 AM »
Ok, but if you have one class of cube that's going to pop out multiple types that have a lot of the same code then I'd recommend you look at the parent button which is just above it. There you can create your non-coloured cube and have all the colour definitions defined as children.

Offline Amon.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • What? There's no ceiling outside?
    • Amon.Pro
Re: Gamemaker Studio 2
« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2018, 10:17:24 AM »
Didn't know that, cool. I am new to Gamemaker so there may be ways I'm doing stuff that seem bizarre. :) I'm going to try what you said in a bit as it sounds a lot more practical and logical then the way I'm doing it now. :)
Windows 10 Pro - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GEFORCE GTX 1080 8GB - OCTACORE AMD FX 3.8GHZ - WATERCOOLING.

Offline Xerra

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 344
    • Retro Evolved
Re: Gamemaker Studio 2
« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2018, 11:01:30 AM »
Remember it works just like any other object inherit system so you create a new instance of the child object (red or whatever) and it will inherit all of the parent objects code (which you can't modify from the child) but you can have custom code for each one. For example - the code to change it's colour but you'll already have the sprite for that set up in the editor anyway but obviously you can do anything really.

I've not used that system much itself because none of the projects I've worked on so far have actually needed it but I'm sure I will at some point. Same applies to the variable system - i've not used that either yet. I'm quite old-school though so just set everything up in the create event but a friend uses it and swears by its usefulness, so each to their own.

Yell if you need any help with GMS2 - if I can help I will. I've been considering releasing the source code from my game for the Syntax Bomb last competition (number 4) which isn't brilliant, but may be useful for you to see an example game. That was my first GM2 game that I considered complete since I bought the software.

Offline Amon.

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 64
  • What? There's no ceiling outside?
    • Amon.Pro
Re: Gamemaker Studio 2
« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2018, 12:03:34 PM »
Yep, that sounds a lot more practical than the way I'm doing it now, even though it works, your way seems more natural to me. Old school is always better :) You definitely have helped me with realizing how Gamemaker does things so I'm grateful for that. And, yep, I will post if I have any probs. It's nice getting a little guidance sometimes from someone who has actually got demos and games released with Gamemaker.

Cheers. :)

Windows 10 Pro - 32GB DDR4 RAM - GEFORCE GTX 1080 8GB - OCTACORE AMD FX 3.8GHZ - WATERCOOLING.