How to put grass on a landscape?

Started by phodiS, May 09, 2018, 18:29:57

Previous topic - Next topic

phodiS

First up a disclosure.. I am not very good at programming, but I want to learn Blitz3d as so far its been a lot of fun.
Ok so let's get to it.
I have a MESH landscape (not a height-map) that I use for my terrain.
My player is a Sprite as a character that walks around on it. I have loaded a lot of models into the landscape, and all was going GREAT...but..
GRASS!!!.. ok. here's the thing. I have Sprite grass that I want to randomly place over the landscape. And I have done it (kind of), the problem being
although the coverage is good... the Y value of the Grass sprite doesn't actually sit on the Ground :( 
I Know how to do this on a heightmap, but for the life of me I can't get it to work on a mesh landscape. I tried to cheat and generate the grass really high..giving it gravity to
collide on the ground before the game starts.... but not all of the grass finds the ground...as I walk around most of it is at random heights. <<< This is the same as my models like houses and trees..  I end up just running the game... and checking if it's off the ground or not then adjust it back in the code. That's a pain.. but when it comes to grass... OMG!. Hehe.. any ideas guys?.
An alternative would be >> T.ED Terrain Editor V6.7 << but I can't buy a registration code for this awesome software as the site seems to have disappeared!... Any alternatives?.

STEVIE G

Make the landscape pickable using Entitypickmode and then use Linepick to place the grass ....

LinePick ( x#,y#,z#,dx#,dy#,dz#[,radius#] )
Parameters
x# - x coordinate of start of line pick
y# - y coordinate of start of line pick
z# - z coordinate of start of line pick
dx# - distance x of line pick
dy# - distance y of line pick
dz# - distance z of line pick
radius (optional) - radius of line pick 

For example ..

Entitypickmode LandscapeMesh, 2 
LinePick( x, 1000, y, 0,-2000,0 )