July 19, 2019, 01:34:22 AM

Author Topic: Setting the IDE color (including widgets and menus) in Windows.  (Read 2505 times)

Offline c0d3r9

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
Re: Setting the IDE color (including widgets and menus) in Windows.
« Reply #15 on: April 17, 2019, 12:20:45 AM »
of course you have to follow the complete instructions.
Copy the theme you wish into the themes folder and edit the geany.gtkrc file
Laptop: Win10@64bit - i3 2x2Ghz - 8GB Ram - 1TB HDD
Desktop: Win10@64bit - AMD Ryzen 5 2400G - MSI B450 Tomahawk - 8GB Ram - 240GB SSD

Offline blinkok

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: Setting the IDE color (including widgets and menus) in Windows.
« Reply #16 on: April 17, 2019, 03:49:28 AM »
Yes. I did that as per instructions at top of thread. Still didn't work

Offline c0d3r9

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
Re: Setting the IDE color (including widgets and menus) in Windows.
« Reply #17 on: April 17, 2019, 11:26:33 AM »
For me it works like before.
Laptop: Win10@64bit - i3 2x2Ghz - 8GB Ram - 1TB HDD
Desktop: Win10@64bit - AMD Ryzen 5 2400G - MSI B450 Tomahawk - 8GB Ram - 240GB SSD

Offline Derron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2208
Re: Setting the IDE color (including widgets and menus) in Windows.
« Reply #18 on: April 17, 2019, 12:51:52 PM »
@c0d3r9
You should consider replacing those toolbar icons :-)

For MaxIDE we replaced them a while ago


The idea is to use a slight white-glow outside of the icons - so it does not disturb on bright backgrounds but on dark backgrounds it gives the required outline.


bye
Ron

Offline c0d3r9

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
Re: Setting the IDE color (including widgets and menus) in Windows.
« Reply #19 on: April 17, 2019, 01:38:23 PM »
I just install AGK after  a clean win10 install to test that the IDE color settings are working.
I work more with AGKS atm.

But indeed nice icons.
I create some new icons for AGKS.
The white-glow outlines are a very good idea.
Laptop: Win10@64bit - i3 2x2Ghz - 8GB Ram - 1TB HDD
Desktop: Win10@64bit - AMD Ryzen 5 2400G - MSI B450 Tomahawk - 8GB Ram - 240GB SSD

Offline Derron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2208
Re: Setting the IDE color (including widgets and menus) in Windows.
« Reply #20 on: April 17, 2019, 01:54:02 PM »
But indeed nice icons.
I create some new icons for AGKS.
The white-glow outlines are a very good idea.

They are from Visual Studio (free icons, so no licence issue) I only repaired their SVGs and created the rocket thing and the continue triangle (not seen in this shot).

bye
Ron

Offline c0d3r9

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
Re: Setting the IDE color (including widgets and menus) in Windows.
« Reply #21 on: April 17, 2019, 02:24:56 PM »
Nice info.
Laptop: Win10@64bit - i3 2x2Ghz - 8GB Ram - 1TB HDD
Desktop: Win10@64bit - AMD Ryzen 5 2400G - MSI B450 Tomahawk - 8GB Ram - 240GB SSD

Offline Rick Nasher

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 722
Re: Setting the IDE color (including widgets and menus) in Windows.
« Reply #22 on: April 17, 2019, 06:41:35 PM »
Think this happened because I installed latest version of AGK on my new laptop and just included the latest geany in with it.

Have to try and see what happens when update on my old laptop too.
_______________________________________
 B3D + physics + shaders + X-platform = AGK!
:D ..ALIENBREED *LIVES* (thanks to Qube).. :D
_______________________________________

Offline c0d3r9

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
Re: Setting the IDE color (including widgets and menus) in Windows.
« Reply #23 on: April 17, 2019, 07:25:54 PM »
With a fresh install of AGK it seems that the geany.gtkrc isn´t longer existent.
But, i don´t know why, the AGKS package have the data folder of geany.
Btw. much things in the AGKS folder could be deleted.Obsolet...and not needed
Laptop: Win10@64bit - i3 2x2Ghz - 8GB Ram - 1TB HDD
Desktop: Win10@64bit - AMD Ryzen 5 2400G - MSI B450 Tomahawk - 8GB Ram - 240GB SSD

Offline blinkok

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: Setting the IDE color (including widgets and menus) in Windows.
« Reply #24 on: April 17, 2019, 10:55:30 PM »
Those icons look nice although i don't know why they still use a diskette. Diskettes have been dead for about 20 years right?

Offline c0d3r9

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
Re: Setting the IDE color (including widgets and menus) in Windows.
« Reply #25 on: April 17, 2019, 11:10:13 PM »
indeed, a cloud shoud be the new icon ;)
Laptop: Win10@64bit - i3 2x2Ghz - 8GB Ram - 1TB HDD
Desktop: Win10@64bit - AMD Ryzen 5 2400G - MSI B450 Tomahawk - 8GB Ram - 240GB SSD

Offline blinkok

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: Setting the IDE color (including widgets and menus) in Windows.
« Reply #26 on: April 17, 2019, 11:23:10 PM »
Got the colours working. I think i had pasted some corrupt stuff in one of the files. Fresh install and re-apply changes fixed it


I designed some icons

Offline c0d3r9

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
Re: Setting the IDE color (including widgets and menus) in Windows.
« Reply #27 on: April 18, 2019, 03:54:58 PM »
nice icons +1
Laptop: Win10@64bit - i3 2x2Ghz - 8GB Ram - 1TB HDD
Desktop: Win10@64bit - AMD Ryzen 5 2400G - MSI B450 Tomahawk - 8GB Ram - 240GB SSD

Offline Derron

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2208
Re: Setting the IDE color (including widgets and menus) in Windows.
« Reply #28 on: April 18, 2019, 06:19:37 PM »
There is a reason for colors in icons - atleast in my opinion.

Most often used icons (build, debug stop...) could be in a color to pop out a bit.

People can identify forms/shapes but if stuff becomes smaller and smaller then colours will still be identifyable while shapes already lack information then.
Also red=attention, green/blue=ok (remember color blindness).


Bye
Ron

Offline blinkok

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 103
Re: Setting the IDE color (including widgets and menus) in Windows.
« Reply #29 on: April 18, 2019, 10:47:10 PM »
I think icons in general are way too boisterous and quite often distract from the task at hand.
In a text based application they will differ from characters enough that the stand out when i go looking for them, not when i'm concentrating on the text
The compile/run/debug/generate icons would chnage colour when they are executing (Red to cancel the operation)
I do like those icons of yours though ron