November 30, 2020, 02:04:36 AM

Author Topic: error 0xc0000022 when trying to run a Blitz3d program on Windows 10 [solved]  (Read 3236 times)

Offline RemiD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1077
Hello,  :)

I am currently using the Blitz3d IDE on a computer with Windows 7 and all my Blitz3d programs work well.

However i have tested to run a Blitz3d program on a computer with Windows 10, and i get an error "0xc0000022", do you know what is the cause ? is there a way to solve this ? (is this because "directplay" is not installed ?)

SOLVED -> see reply #4

Thanks,
DualCore AMD E-450, 1646 MHz - 6 Go DDR3 1333 SDRAM - AMD Radeon HD 6320 Graphics (384 Mo) - Windows 7 Home Premium - DirectX 11.0

Offline RonTek

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 357
Re: error 0xc0000022 when trying to run a Blitz3d program on Windows 10
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2017, 09:42:05 AM »
Hey RemiD,

You could try enabling directplay under Legacy components if you think this is causing the error..

https://windowsforum.com/attachments/screenshot-36-png.29343/

btw, I have done some tests on Windows 10 with B3D (last brl version, not github) and so far it works w/o any issues.

Offline RemiD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1077
Re: error 0xc0000022 when trying to run a Blitz3d program on Windows 10
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2017, 10:10:57 AM »
@RonTek>>Thanks, apparently it is caused by directplay not installed by default. (even for others old games, not only for programs made with Blitz3d)
See :

Following this procedure (activating manually directplay in the Windows Features/Legacy Components) solved the error, and all my programs work well on Windows 10.
However this is not good to ask the user to do that... I will try to find another way...


There was a post by Yue where he said that he managed to make the program run correctly by including a dll of directplay... Not sure if i will find it !
Here : http://wasted.nz/posts.php?topic=108133
(tested : including the dplayx.dll in the same directory than the executable does not work here... There is another error !)


Alternatively, an update by kfprimm to remove the need of directplay :
http://wasted.nz/posts.php?topic=106282
(tested, works well ! see reply#4)
DualCore AMD E-450, 1646 MHz - 6 Go DDR3 1333 SDRAM - AMD Radeon HD 6320 Graphics (384 Mo) - Windows 7 Home Premium - DirectX 11.0

Offline iWasAdam

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2001
Re: error 0xc0000022 when trying to run a Blitz3d program on Windows 10
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2017, 11:31:18 AM »
RemiD - This is just a passing thought...
In 'theory' it would be possible to retro convert monkey2 to directly support blitz3d. I'm sure it is just a case of working through the differences and updating the core systems plus writing some new code to add additional support.

My thought here were, would this be an attractive option? This would not be Monkey2, but a sort of hybrid design?

Offline RemiD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1077
Re: error 0xc0000022 when trying to run a Blitz3d program on Windows 10
« Reply #4 on: December 23, 2017, 08:54:44 PM »
Solved !


problem : on Windows 8 and Windows 10, when a user runs an executable made with Blitz3d, it will show an error "0xc0000022" message, this is because directplay is not installed / activated and needs to be installed / activated


2 methods to prevent this error message :


method 1 :
install Blitz3d 1.64 (by Blitzresearch)
install Blitz3d update 1.107 (by Blitzresearch)
install Blitz3d update 1.108 (by kfprimm) (=replace the files runtime.dll and fmod.dll by those provided by kfprimm)

Here are all the files you need : http://rd-stuff.fr/blitz3d/Blitz3d-installer-docpaks-updates-(20171223).7z


method 2 :
add the directplay dll with your executable (so game.exe and dplayx.dll in the same directory)
you can download dplayx.dll, online, or here :
http://rd-stuff.fr/blitz3d/directplay-dll-(5.3.2600.5512).zip
(you can probably use others versions, but i have found this one which works well !)


(and you also need to include fmod.dll with your executable... (so game.exe and fmod.dll in the same directory))


Good ! :)
DualCore AMD E-450, 1646 MHz - 6 Go DDR3 1333 SDRAM - AMD Radeon HD 6320 Graphics (384 Mo) - Windows 7 Home Premium - DirectX 11.0

Offline RemiD

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1077
Re: error 0xc0000022 when trying to run a Blitz3d program on Windows 10
« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2017, 09:05:35 AM »
It would be useful if those of you who still use Blitz3d, try what i have explained here, and confirm that it solves the problem to have to activate directplay in legacy components on Windows 8/8.1/10 (of course you first need to deactivate directplay in legacy components before trying to run the executable...)

Thanks!
DualCore AMD E-450, 1646 MHz - 6 Go DDR3 1333 SDRAM - AMD Radeon HD 6320 Graphics (384 Mo) - Windows 7 Home Premium - DirectX 11.0

 

SimplePortal 2.3.6 © 2008-2014, SimplePortal