Languages & Coding > C++ / C#

DEVC++ and glut

(1/3) > >>

cpsmith0191:
As a beginner moving on from text based C++ I found GLUT easier to understand than opengl and a good place to start for ' learn ye 2d graphics'.
One slight problem, can't get past '#include <GL/glut.h>' as attempts to compile produce an error at this point.
I used the 'package manager' from 'tools' to install the glut7.6-3.devpak.
I'm running DEVC++5.10 under windows10 and c:\dec-cpp\include\GL\glut.h exists.
I've tried various solutions as described on the web, including ensuring that the correct files are linked under project/parameters/library.
Any ideas appreciated as I'm new to devc++ and feel tempted by the dark side (going back to visualC++), have fun cps.

RonTek:

--- Quote from: cpsmith0191 on September 21, 2017, 10:29:59 PM ---c:\dec-cpp\include\GL\glut.h exists.

--- End quote ---

Probably just some typo errors?
--- Code: --- c:\Dev-cpp\..?
--- End code ---

Is this your first time using MinGW and IDEs?

cpsmith0191:
Thanks for the input. This is my second install (after uninstalling the first) and is in C:\Dev-Cpp\ the first was in C:\programm files(x86).
I've written (tweaked examples) using windows application, console application and openGL and all compile under this installation and under the previous installation. I've double checked and I run C:\Dev-Cpp\devcpp.exe to start the IDE.
I am an absolute beginner in C++ my only previous experience being under VisualC with a dabble in objectiveC with cocoa (mac).
Is your reply a hint? is  '-' an illegal character in a file spec? long time since I had to think of this sort of thing, have fun cps

RonTek:

--- Quote from: cpsmith0191 on September 21, 2017, 11:19:26 PM ---Thanks for the input. This is my second install (after uninstalling the first) and is in C:\Dev-Cpp\ the first was in C:\programm files(x86).