November 24, 2020, 06:44:27 AM

Author Topic: Anti Alias Enable - Not working?  (Read 2498 times)

Offline MagosDomina

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
    • Aspiring game developer website.
Anti Alias Enable - Not working?
« on: September 14, 2017, 05:40:25 PM »
I am able to force on Antialiasing through my video card but the setting "AntiAlias enable" does nothing. The provided example in the Blitz docs also does not produce any AA effect either. I tested this on two different machines, both are capable of AA. So what gives? :(
Central hub for my Game Design related activities.
http://www.magosdomina.com/

Windows 7 PRO 64-bit, 48Gb RAM, CPU: Dual Hexacore Intel Xeon 3.33 GHZ, Nvidia Quadro 5800FX 4Gb x 2 SLI.

Offline Steve Elliott

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2853
  • elgol 2021
Re: Anti Alias Enable - Not working?
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2017, 05:53:29 PM »
I didn't think AA ever worked in Blitz3d.
Windows 10 64-bit, 16Gb RAM, Intel i5 3.2 GHz, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050 (2Gb)
MacOS Big Sur 64-bit, 8Gb RAM, Intel i5 2.3 Ghz, Intel Iris Plus Graphics 640 1536 MB
Linux Mint 19.3 64-bit, 16Gb RAM, Intel i5 3.2 GHz, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050 (2Gb)
Raspberry Pi 400, Pi4, C64, ZX Spectrum Next.

Offline MagosDomina

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
    • Aspiring game developer website.
Re: Anti Alias Enable - Not working?
« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2017, 07:55:09 PM »
According to my research that seems to be the case 50% of the time. It works on certain machines and not others.
Central hub for my Game Design related activities.
http://www.magosdomina.com/

Windows 7 PRO 64-bit, 48Gb RAM, CPU: Dual Hexacore Intel Xeon 3.33 GHZ, Nvidia Quadro 5800FX 4Gb x 2 SLI.

Online Xaron

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 307
Re: Anti Alias Enable - Not working?
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2017, 08:00:22 PM »
Actually I'm pretty amazed that there are still people who use BB3D. Don't get me wrong, I love it, it was a fantastic tool but the problems that slowly come up with modern Windows versions would scare me to invest time using it.

Offline MagosDomina

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
    • Aspiring game developer website.
Re: Anti Alias Enable - Not working?
« Reply #4 on: September 15, 2017, 12:47:26 AM »
Content wise I've hit about 1159 files which in total are 3gb worth of the data created for my project. I'm not so far along code wise that switching to something newer isn't an option, I just need to take the time to retrain myself on with a newer language. Blitz is still great for fast prototyping and works on a wide range of machines, even if the occasional issue arises.

Problems with Windows? The problems are actually features designed by Microsoft. XD  But I understand what you're saying. LOL!
Central hub for my Game Design related activities.
http://www.magosdomina.com/

Windows 7 PRO 64-bit, 48Gb RAM, CPU: Dual Hexacore Intel Xeon 3.33 GHZ, Nvidia Quadro 5800FX 4Gb x 2 SLI.

Offline RonTek

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 357
Re: Anti Alias Enable - Not working?
« Reply #5 on: September 15, 2017, 05:17:22 AM »
I am able to force on Antialiasing through my video card but the setting "AntiAlias enable" does nothing. The provided example in the Blitz docs also does not produce any AA effect either. I tested this on two different machines, both are capable of AA. So what gives? :(

Utilizing the gfx card feature is the best way to go overall (quality + performance). I have tried it with most B3D games and it looks better.

Offline ms62

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 110
Re: Anti Alias Enable - Not working?
« Reply #6 on: September 30, 2017, 12:17:55 AM »
People use it because the language is very easy and straight forward and they cannot find one with 3D capability. I don't know if anybody really use it for selling software.

Offline LineOf7s

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • LineOf7s Entertainment
Re: Anti Alias Enable - Not working?
« Reply #7 on: September 30, 2017, 12:36:52 AM »
People use it because the language is very easy and straight forward and they cannot find one with 3D capability. I don't know if anybody really use it for selling software.

https://stevieg.itch.io/polymaniacs



Proudly made in vanilla Blitz3D.

(not by me, to be clear.  I did buy it, though)

Offline Kris

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 116
Re: Anti Alias Enable - Not working?
« Reply #8 on: September 30, 2017, 11:56:30 AM »
I think the best to call all video card features and settings such as antialiasing level, mip map and filtering methods through the settings of the card itself outside of your Blitz3D application. Obviously Blitz3D does not support most current features, and the old ones it supports might not work properly. For that reason I would not mix supposedly working features with card settings. Just let the users know that for all "extra" video card specific visuals they have to go to the control panel of their video cards. They might not have full access to all features with certain GPUs and settings but nor you do via Blitz3D and the ones they can control work properly. Just my 2 cents. 

Offline MagosDomina

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 121
    • Aspiring game developer website.
Re: Anti Alias Enable - Not working?
« Reply #9 on: September 30, 2017, 07:26:20 PM »
Polymaniacs looks like a really great game. I will be buying this shortly! Love the oldschool 3d graphics.

@Kris
I agree that at this point AA is better handled by the 3d card directly. To help with scaling my game on less powerful (or more powerful machines) I wrote 4 different ways for the games internal timing and frame rate to behave. Normally they are selected based upon what kind of display you are using. For anyone still using a CRT I added as many as enhancements as I could.  8)

One addition I would like to add is a simulated 320x240 scaled resolution. But I fear it would make every menu in my game unreadable. Probably useless to add except for my own enjoyment.
Central hub for my Game Design related activities.
http://www.magosdomina.com/

Windows 7 PRO 64-bit, 48Gb RAM, CPU: Dual Hexacore Intel Xeon 3.33 GHZ, Nvidia Quadro 5800FX 4Gb x 2 SLI.

Offline Steve Elliott

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2853
  • elgol 2021
Re: Anti Alias Enable - Not working?
« Reply #10 on: September 30, 2017, 07:44:00 PM »
Quote
Polymaniacs looks like a really great game. I will be buying this shortly! Love the oldschool 3d graphics.

Totally agree.
Windows 10 64-bit, 16Gb RAM, Intel i5 3.2 GHz, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050 (2Gb)
MacOS Big Sur 64-bit, 8Gb RAM, Intel i5 2.3 Ghz, Intel Iris Plus Graphics 640 1536 MB
Linux Mint 19.3 64-bit, 16Gb RAM, Intel i5 3.2 GHz, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050 (2Gb)
Raspberry Pi 400, Pi4, C64, ZX Spectrum Next.

 

SimplePortal 2.3.6 © 2008-2014, SimplePortal