August 22, 2019, 12:51:26 AM

Author Topic: AGK vs Monkey?!  (Read 13360 times)

Offline Qube

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2046
Re: AGK vs Monkey?!
« Reply #30 on: September 05, 2017, 03:47:18 PM »
Quote
And regarding HTML and AGK speed: I think CX wins here over AGK.
I dunno, this runs pretty OK on my system considering it's not optimised in any shape or form http://www.syntaxbomb.com/CometKiller
Until the next time...

Offline Pingus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re: AGK vs Monkey?!
« Reply #31 on: September 05, 2017, 06:09:07 PM »
Nice game.
However on my (pretty powerful) PC it shows some 'smoothness weakness'. Well that's pretty usual with browser games anyway.
As I mentioned today another engine in another post (defold), I had the curiosity to check a similar html5 demo.

http://www.cgamoment.com/cosmic/play.html

 I don't know if it's because it is a 2D engine and because you use 3D objects but it looks more smooth. Is there is a Windows (desktop) version of your game ?

Online Steve Elliott

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1917
Re: AGK vs Monkey?!
« Reply #32 on: September 05, 2017, 06:39:16 PM »
That game is moving very small 2d sprites about, and certainly not large 2d and normal mapped 3d graphics!

http://www.syntaxbomb.com/index.php/topic,3303.0.html
Windows 10, 64-bit, 16Gb RAM, CPU Intel i5, 3.2 GHz, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050 (2Gb).
MacOS Mojave, 64-bit, 8Gb RAM, CPU Intel i5, 2.3 Ghz, Intel Iris Plus Graphics 640 1536 MB.
Linux Mint 19.1, 64-bit, 16Gb RAM, CPU Intel i5, 3.2 GHz, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050 (2Gb).
Raspbian Buster, pi4 4Gb RAM,1.5Ghz

Offline Pingus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re: AGK vs Monkey?!
« Reply #33 on: September 05, 2017, 06:58:34 PM »
OK thanks. Desktop version smooth as butter.
I can not blame AGK  :P

Offline Qube

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2046
Re: AGK vs Monkey?!
« Reply #34 on: September 05, 2017, 09:06:47 PM »
Quote
I don't know if it's because it is a 2D engine and because you use 3D objects but it looks more smooth. Is there is a Windows (desktop) version of your gam
The game was never meant for web browsers and it's definitely not optimised graphically as everything is over the top like 1024x1024 textures + normal map just for a crumby little comet. I'm surprised it even runs at any decent frame rate in a browser :P

( I see Steve posted the link, thanks, Steve )
Until the next time...

Online Steve Elliott

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1917
Re: AGK vs Monkey?!
« Reply #35 on: September 05, 2017, 09:08:28 PM »
No probs  :)
Windows 10, 64-bit, 16Gb RAM, CPU Intel i5, 3.2 GHz, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050 (2Gb).
MacOS Mojave, 64-bit, 8Gb RAM, CPU Intel i5, 2.3 Ghz, Intel Iris Plus Graphics 640 1536 MB.
Linux Mint 19.1, 64-bit, 16Gb RAM, CPU Intel i5, 3.2 GHz, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050 (2Gb).
Raspbian Buster, pi4 4Gb RAM,1.5Ghz

Offline RonTek

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 357
Re: AGK vs Monkey?!
« Reply #36 on: September 06, 2017, 11:01:30 AM »
There is no PBR in AGK and I doubt it will come. They are not targeting high end systems. I think for M2 you need better performing machines.

I think they have mentioned PBR in their roadmap or product page..

Quote
The game engine provides an optimised and powerful 3D engine. Full shader support, height map terrain generation, shader, lighting and more. All popular 3D model formats are supported and new features such as shadows, 3D particles and PBR support are coming very soon.

https://www.appgamekit.com/technology


Offline RonTek

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 357
Re: AGK vs Monkey?!
« Reply #37 on: September 06, 2017, 11:10:15 AM »
Ok I found a downloaded mojo3d copy from the posted link on the live chat a few months ago. (mojo3d_v0.0.9)

Offline Xaron

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 252
Re: AGK vs Monkey?!
« Reply #38 on: September 06, 2017, 11:18:51 AM »
mojo3d is contained in the official Monkey download as well (1.1.06): https://blitzresearch.itch.io/monkey2

Offline TomToad

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 405
Re: AGK vs Monkey?!
« Reply #39 on: September 06, 2017, 11:25:04 AM »
I'm curious as to why the 3D module download link is nowhere publicly visible and available..

M2 v1.1.06 includes Mojo3D.

Edit: Xaron beat me to it while I was reading the thread  ;D
------------------------------------------------
8 rabbits equals 1 rabbyte.

Offline RonTek

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 357
Re: AGK vs Monkey?!
« Reply #40 on: September 06, 2017, 11:36:10 AM »
Ah great, thanks guys.

The only issue that I have so far with Monkey2 is the build time where it now seems doubled or even longer compared to Monkey-X. I remember trying it once and having to wait a few minutes to build a simple demo or example, kind of reminds me of Haxe build time as well. Of course, there's also the C/C++ syntax thing which has become the default argument of most BRL users.

Offline Pingus

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 91
Re: AGK vs Monkey?!
« Reply #41 on: September 06, 2017, 12:46:37 PM »

The only issue that I have so far with Monkey2 is the build time

Oh ?! Long build times is what scare me the most. Can you estimate roughly how big your project is (number of lines) ?

Offline RonTek

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 357
Re: AGK vs Monkey?!
« Reply #42 on: September 06, 2017, 01:05:35 PM »

The only issue that I have so far with Monkey2 is the build time

Oh ?! Long build times is what scare me the most. Can you estimate roughly how big your project is (number of lines) ?

Hey Pingus, yes as I have posted above just the examples alone already takes some time to build (~300-500 lines). I'm going to try it again just to see how Mojo3D performs on older android devices.


Offline Xaron

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 252
Re: AGK vs Monkey?!
« Reply #43 on: September 06, 2017, 01:45:21 PM »
I'd be curious if mojo3d works on mobile devices at all yet. As far as I know this is still in progress. But keep us posted please.

Offline MikeHart

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 593
  • Cerberus-X Dev Team
    • Cerberus X
Re: AGK vs Monkey?!
« Reply #44 on: September 06, 2017, 03:03:41 PM »
Hey Pingus, yes as I have posted above just the examples alone already takes some time to build (~300-500 lines). I'm going to try it again just to see how Mojo3D performs on older android devices.

Is it slow even with subsequent builds of the same project? With CX it is much slower on the first build cause all these files from GLFW will be compiled. Later on it is only the main file that is recompiled and then linked to the object files of GLFW.