Ooops
May 25, 2020, 12:39:37 PM

Author Topic: [ PHP ] An abstract question concerning the capabilities of PHP  (Read 1599 times)

Offline cpsmith0191

• caroleandcarl
Firstly I am very new to PHP. I am tweaking some PHP script to imitate the much lamented (by me) GNet Lobby initially on my ‘apache server’ (thanks to all for your examples of PHP script).

This system seems to me to create a record in a data base that contains the IP and port of the game session creator. This is then maintained by the session creator until such time as a client (second player) joins the session then the record is allowed to ‘time out’ and is scrubbed by the php script. The local software then initiates all the TCIP port binding stuff and the players have to sort out any firewall, router problems via port forwarding etc. This is OK but I was thinking (a dangerous pastime) that for two player turn based games, IE games where speed of data transfer is not an issue the following model might be more appropriate.

Each copy of the software comes with the appropriate permissions to access the sql data base on my site for this game. Both players can read all cells in a record. Player 1 creates a session, PHP creates a record, info and say 8 cells and gets write access to 4 cells
Player 1  Cell 0 set to 1 = (I am connected)       Player 2   Cell 5 (set to 1 when player 2 connects) = (I am connected)
Player 1  Cell1 =  any sent data                        Player 2   Cell 6 = any sent data
Player 1  Cell2 = I have received data               Player 2   Cell 7 = I have received data
Player 1  Cell3 = I have sent data                     Player 2   Cell 8 = I have sent data
Player 2 when joining a session gets write access to cells 5 to 8 and sets cell5 = 1
A game turn would take the following form (player1’s data send)
Player 1 sets cell2=0, player 1puts data into cell1, player 1 sets cell3 to 1, player 1 monitors Cell7