September 18, 2021, 06:33:50

Author Topic: Atom editor  (Read 650 times)

Offline Pfaber11

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 777
  • Bonjour
Atom editor
« on: August 13, 2021, 09:36:13 »
Had a play with Atom last night and although it is pretty good I could not work out how to point it in the direction of the AGK studio compiler, if anybody knows please share . Then advantage for me would be code folding which when I get up to 8000+ lines of code will be  helpful.
Thanks for reading . Awesome day.
HP 15s i3 1.2 upto 3.4 ghz 128 gb ssd 16 gb ram 15.6 inch screen.

Offline Qube

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2765
  • I mostly code at night... Mostly.
    • SyntaxBomb - Indie Coders
Re: Atom editor
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2021, 16:56:22 »
Had a play with Atom last night and although it is pretty good I could not work out how to point it in the direction of the AGK studio compiler, if anybody knows please share . Then advantage for me would be code folding which when I get up to 8000+ lines of code will be  helpful.
Thanks for reading . Awesome day.
You can’t anymore. Studio has the compiler built into the IDE which is not the best idea they’ve had. Classic has the compiler separate.
Mac mini ( 2018 / 2020 ), 3 GHz 6-Core Intel Core i5, 16 GB 2667 MHz DDR4, 1TB NVMe, eGPU Radeon Pro 580 8 GB, LG Ultragear 27GL83A-B 27 Inch
Mac mini (2020 ), M1 SoC, 8 GB LPDDR4, 512GB NVMe 
Commodore VIC-20, 1.1Mhz MOS 6502 CPU, 5KB RAM, VIC ( 6560 ) GPU

Until the next time.

Offline Pfaber11

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 777
  • Bonjour
Re: Atom editor
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2021, 19:57:07 »
what a shame . I guess I'll just have to wait for TGC to fix the code folding in Studio. It may not be an issue as I'm on a more powerful computer these days but in one of my games I had close to 10,000 lines of code and trying to scroll through the program was awful which is why I wanted the code folding option . Mind you that was a couple of years ago and I'd probably achieve the same or better results now  with half the code , but the screen refresh the way it was  was crap to work with. Thanks for the reply .
HP 15s i3 1.2 upto 3.4 ghz 128 gb ssd 16 gb ram 15.6 inch screen.

Offline Steve Elliott

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3225
  • elgol
Re: Atom editor
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2021, 21:13:12 »
Quote
in one of my games I had close to 10,000 lines of code and trying to scroll through the program was awful which is why I wanted the code folding option .

 :o You really should be breaking up your program into more files.
Windows 10 64-bit, 16Gb RAM, Intel i5 3.2 GHz, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050 (2Gb)
MacOS Big Sur 64-bit, 8Gb RAM, Intel i5 2.3 Ghz, Intel Iris Plus Graphics 640 1536 MB
Linux Mint 19.3 64-bit, 16Gb RAM, Intel i5 3.2 GHz, Nvidia GeForce GTX 1050 (2Gb)
Raspberry pi 3, pi 4, pi 400, BBC B, C64, ZX Spectrum

Offline Pfaber11

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 777
  • Bonjour
Re: Atom editor
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2021, 08:25:43 »
Yes I agree with you Steve. Never tried it before but will try and work it out , it's something I should know how to do anyway. 
HP 15s i3 1.2 upto 3.4 ghz 128 gb ssd 16 gb ram 15.6 inch screen.

Offline Pfaber11

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 777
  • Bonjour
Re: Atom editor
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2021, 10:19:45 »
Well I've now got the hang of #include and it really is pretty easy when you know how . There you go I learnt something new today and so really don't need the code folding as a result although will be nice once it gets fixed.
HP 15s i3 1.2 upto 3.4 ghz 128 gb ssd 16 gb ram 15.6 inch screen.

Offline medi71

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 35
Re: Atom editor
« Reply #6 on: August 17, 2021, 15:30:11 »
Good to know that there is atom.agk. Thanks to gosukiwi.

Offline blinkok

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
Re: Atom editor
« Reply #7 on: August 17, 2021, 20:50:24 »
There is also #insert. Which includes the file at the line rather than at the end of the file

Offline Pfaber11

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 777
  • Bonjour
Re: Atom editor
« Reply #8 on: August 18, 2021, 00:03:08 »
Yes I tried #insert first but it was saying something about variables and suggested I use #include which I did and it does the job . Bit like using gosub/return but better. Have a nice evening.
HP 15s i3 1.2 upto 3.4 ghz 128 gb ssd 16 gb ram 15.6 inch screen.

 

SimplePortal 2.3.6 © 2008-2014, SimplePortal